Home / Top Stories / Accra Polytechnic dominates 2015 Ghana Basketball Award nominations

Accra Polytechnic dominates 2015 Ghana Basketball Award nominations


The final shortlist for the 2015 Ghana Basketball Awards has been released with Accra Polytechnic dominating heavily for top individual honours.

The final shortlist of nominees was released on Tuesday with the capital-based tertiary institution leading the nominations following a breathtaking basketball season.

Romeo Enan Wilfred, Abdul Mutaleb Alhassan, Daniel Nii Aryee and reigning champion Baniba Norbert Dodzi will fight for the ultimate crown for the Most Valuable Player of the season in the male category.

The fight in the women’s category appears to be evenly shared with Accra Polytechnic’s captain Grace Martina Doe slugging it out with Yayrah Kluiboto (University of Cape Coast), Claudia Seidu (Takoradi Polytechnic) and Belinda Tawiah (CEPS).

The Accra Polytechnic basketball team must fend off competition from Braves of CEPS, Mfantsipim School and University of Cape Coast for the Team of the Year.

The Coach of the Year will be an interesting case with veteran and defending champion Brimah Lawah (Accra Polytechnic and CEPS) hoping to retain his title after his second successive nomination.

The experienced trainer who guided Accra Polytechnic and CEPS to dominate the basketball space in the year under review is the hot favourite to retain his crown. But he must compete with Isaac Kobina Owusu Mensah (University of Cape Coast and Mfantsipim School), Isaac Reagan (Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology) and Emmanuel Quaye (Tema Youth).

This year’s award will also see the introduction of the High School Coach of the Year which will be keenly contested for by four exciting trainers.

Isaac Kobina Owusu Mensah, who guided Mfantsipim to win their fourth title in the prestigious Sprite Ball Championship, is up against high-flying Ahmed Baffoe, who has also been instrumental in the dominance of TI Ahamadiyya in the girls division.

Prince Adarkwah (Aggrey Memorial) and Kofi Siaw Boateng (Keta SHS) are also in the reckoning for the Coach of the Year accolade.

Perhaps one category which will excite many is the Tertiary Player of the Year. The new award scheme is aimed at identifying and rewarding the most outstanding basketball player at the tertiary level in the West African country.

Romeo Enan Wilfred (Accra Polytechnic), Ibrahim Mohammed (University of Cape Coast), Nana Owusu Agyei Afriyie (Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology) and Kingsley Quist (Zenith University College) will be up for honours in the competing category.

The High School Player of the Year is an award that will intrigue students at the Senior High level with Mfantsipim duo Jamani Salifu Misheal and 2013 Most Promising Player Daniel Owusu going at each other in the boys’ category. Unsung Bompeh Senior High School handler Christopher Appiah as well as Edwin Appiah (Presec-Legon) all in the race for the individual honours.

The High School Player of the Year in the female category is a straight fight between defending champion Joana Danso (Aggrey Memorial) and rival Rachel Obeng of Kumasi-based TI Amass.

However, Juliana Cudjoe (Aggrey Memorial) and Rebecca Korankye –Taylor (Mfantsiman), who have made the shortlist could spring a surprise in category which is expected to invoke emotions.

The 2015 Ghana Basketball Awards takes place LIVE on TV3 on Friday October 16.

More than 150 guests drawn from the sporting fraternity, businesses, some members of the Diploma corps, government and media amongst others expected to fill the TV3 auditorium.


High School Player of the Year (male) 1. Jamani Salifu Misheal (Mfantsipim)

2. Edwin Appiah (Presec-Legon)

3. Christopher Appiah (Bompeh SHS)

4.  Daniel Owusu (Mfantsipim)

High School Player of the Year (female) 1. Joana Dansoah (Aggrey Memorial)

2.Rachel Obeng (TI Amass)

3. Rebecca Korankye-Taylor (Mfantsiman Girls)

4.  Juliana  Cudjoe (Aggrey Memorial)

High School Coach of the Year 1. Isaac Kobina Mensah (Mfantsipim)

2.Ahmed Baffoe (TI Amass)

3.Prince Adarkwa (Aggrey Memorial)

4.Kofi Siaw Boateng (Ketasco)

Tertiary Player of the Year 1. Romeo Enan Wilfred (Accra Poly)

2.Ibrahim Mohammed (UCC)

3. Nana Owusu Agyei Afriyie (KNUST)

4. Kingsley Quist (Zenith University College)

Team of the Year 1.  Accra Polytechnic

2.  Braves of CEPS

3.  Mfantsipim School

4.  University of Cape Coast

Coach of the Year 1. Brimah Lawah (Accra Polytechnic, CEPS)

2.Isaac Kobina Owusu  (UCC, Mfanstipim)

3. Sarpong Regan (KNUST)

4. Emmanuel Quaye (Tema Youth, Braves of Custom)

 Referee of the Year  1. Samuel Badu

2. Anthony Anane

3. Olivia Agbenuzi

4. Eric Agyapong Ankamah

Overall MVP (male) 1. Romeo Enan Winfred (Accra Poly, CEPS)

2. Abdul Mutaleb Alhassan (Accra Polytechnic)

3. Daniel Nii Aryee (Accra Polytechnic, CEPS)

4. Baniba Norbert Dodzi (Accra Polytechnic, CEPS)

Overall MVP (female) 1. Grace Martina Doe (Accra Polytechnic)

2. Yayra Kluiboto (UCC)

3. Claudia Seidu (T Poly)

4.  Belinda Tawiah (CEPS)


About Basketball

Check Also

Sources: Lakers hustling to create max salary slot

The Los Angeles Lakers are scrambling to reshape the parameters of the Anthony Davis trade …


  1. Please I am very glad to be given the platform to chat you.
    I am also happy for the awards tho but I am very sad that I couldn’t see any Ashante region school nominating why should it happen that why please.
    Kumasi schools such as Prempeh college, Kumasi Anglican and Kumasi high school are all trying their effort to be given something tho.
    But all the same I appreciate the awards.Thanks

  2. Watch for university of energy and natural resources next year but good work than Accra Poly

  3. Aba Riverson- Amu

    Well done!!! I humbly wish to suggest that other coaches n basketball players outside Accra shd be considered n awarded as such. Basketball awards as always been centered for players in accra but there re equally good ones out der especially in Takoradi.

    There re coaches who constantly train some of these young players n organize community games to promote the sport.
    Moreover the guys in Accra get many n appreciable opportunities. If u re not in Accra then you re not recognized.

    Please do something about this, we re tired of the same names appearing always. Thanks.

  4. why is it that the greater Accra league (bball) is not shown and discussed on fast break but most of the time its all about USA leagues pre-seasons and play offs. Please you can do more when this is noticed and well considered.

  5. Am very happy to see something like this, at least this can encourage the young men and women to put more effort, thnx to the organizers

  6. Am very happy to see something like this, at least this can encourage the young men and women to put more effort, thnx to the organizers also want to wish my brother Abdul Mutaleb Alhassan all the best,good luck

  7. Please If I may ask, so if u are not in accra then as a gud basketball player u r, u will not be seen? Please I will suggest that we v a competion that will involve all the 10 regions n there u will see that we v players that are best. Dis is making the game in ghana boring and always one sided group of people are always seen. It sadden my heart.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *