2015 Afrobasket silver medalist Angola will be joined by Tunisia and Senegal as African representatives in the 2016 Olympic Games Qualifying Tournament slated to begin July 4.

The draw which was conducted in Switzerland will have the African trio do battle against 15 other countries with an aim of securing a place at the Rio Games.

In all 18 countries have been drawn into six groups with three teams in each group in three host cities. The winner of each group will qualify for the Olympic Games.

Angola find themselves in Group A alongside host nation Serbia and Puerto Rico in Serbia’s capital, Belgrade.

Senegal have been drawn in Group B with 2010 FIBA World Championship silver medalist Turkey and Canada in
Philippines capital, Manila.

North African powerhouse Tunisia, Croatia and Italy will go against each other in Italy’s northern city, Turin for Group C’s sole ticket.

Host Brazil, Australia, U.S.A., Nigeria, Venezuela, Argentina, Spain, Lithuania and China have already qualified for the main tournament.

Below is a break down of the qualifying groups:

Belgrade (Group A)
Group A: Serbia, Angola, Puerto Rico
Group B: Japan, Czech Republic, Latvia

Manila ( Group B)
Group A: Turkey, Senegal, Canada
Group B: France, New Zealand, Philippines

Turin ( Group C)
Group A: Greece, Mexico, Iran
Group B: Tunisia, Croatia, Italy.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here