Abubakar guarding UG Forward Maxwell Mod in lat year’s final game.

Record winners of the Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges (UPAC) Basketball Championship Accra Technical University (ATU) has been drawn in Zone E in this year’s edition. The two time winner is joined in the group by Pentecost University College, Central University and Wisconsin University College.

Games in the zone takes place on March 16 at ATU’s Court.
Aside ATU, neither side in the zone has qualified beyond the preliminary round in the competition.

Pentecost University went close last year after losing its final game to Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration (GIMPA); GIMPA proceeded to the quarter finals.

Central University and Wisconsin were paired in the same group in the 2016 edition playing alongside eventual Champions University of Ghana and Marshalls University College and neither side is expected to make it out of the zone in this year’s competition.

ATU can count on the last two winners of the Most Valuable Player Award at Ghana’s Basketball Awards Abdul Mutaleeb Alhassan and Suleman Alhassan to come through for the side. The duo’s presence changes the dynamic of the team’s fortune.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here