Guinea impressed in the qualifiers and have been rewarded.
Senegal has made it to the Championship.
Nigeria won its first African Championship in 2015.
Reigning Africa Basketball Championship (AfroBasket) winners Nigeria headlines a strong cast of West African nations set to compete at the 2017 edition of the biannual tournament later this year in Brazzaville, Congo Republic.

Nigeria, Senegal, Mali, Ivory Coast and Guinea will represent the sub region at the competition which takes place between August 19-30.

Guinea’s qualification to the tournament via the Wild Card slot awarded to the nation by FIBA Africa days ago brought the number of teams to five.

Guinea was one of the best performing sides to miss out on qualification but got a second chance by the continent’s governing body; Rwanda is the other recipient of the slot.

Cape Verde was in the running to nab a Wild Card slot but missed out to Rwanda.

Senegal placed fourth in the last AfroBasket Championship held in Tunisia in 2015 and is set to present a tough group for the tournament with the likes of Indiana Pacers Forward Georges Niang.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here