Mfantsipim School.
Mfantseman at the January 2016 edition

Qualifiers in the Central Region for next year’s Sprite Ball Championship have tipped off at the Robert Mensah Stadium in Cape-Coast.

The qualifiers will determine representatives from the region at the next National High School Basketball Championship due to be held at the El Wak Stadium in Accra from January 4 to 6, 2018.

Six schools are competing in the girls division with the same number featuring in the boys division including former winners St. Augustine’s College and Mfantsipim School.

Defending Female Champions Wesley Girls High School headline the girls division which has the likes of Aggrey Memorial; Mount Zion, Winneba Senior High School, Adankwaman Senior High School and Swedru Business School competing.

Adisadel College and the likes of Adnakwaman will battle against Augustine’s and Mfantsipim to represent the region at next year’s competition.

The Central Region is the most successful region at Sprite Ball with reps winning as many as ten national championships.

However, this year’s qualifiers are being staged on the back off controversy as Mfantseman Girls Senior High School was shockingly dropped from the games despite making the cut at the zonal level.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here