Mawuli (black and yellow) in action against Osu Presec at the national games last year.
Sacred Heart v Armed Forces (blue)

G.S.T.S. in action against Aquinas at the last national edition.

Six schools have qualified to compete at the next edition of the Sprite Ball Championship next year from the Greater Accra Region.

St. Thomas Aquinas, PRESEC-Osu and Sacred Heart Senior High School will represent the region in the boys division which has reigning champions Opoku Ware School featuring.

Sacred Heart, Accra Wesley Girls Senior High and West Africa Senior High School have qualified to the main competition for the girls division.

The qualifiers took place at the University of Professional Studies (UPSA) and Presbyterian Boys Senior High School (PRESEC-Legon) on Saturday.

However, games were not concluded as heavy rain forced officials to call off games postponing them to be honored this morning.

Host school PRESE-Legon missed out on securing one of three spots allocated to the region and will need a wild card selection close to the start of the tournament to compete.

Tema Senior High School was the biggest casualty in the female division as the school fell behind the division’s top trio. Tema featured at the last edition in December, 2016 but will miss out on competing next year.

Sprite Ball takes place from January 4-6, 2018 at El Wak Stadium in Accra.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here