2016 winners Ahly
Reigning FIBA Africa Champions Cup winners Al Ahly of Egypt will not defend its 2016 title this year following the team’s absence in this year’s competition.

Ahly did not compete in Zone 5 qualifiers held in Uganda earlier this year resulting in the team’s absence in the 2017 edition which tips off today.

The competition commences today and is set to end on December 20 in Rades, Tunisia with 12 teams participating in the annual championship.

Ahly’s absence at the games means a new champion will be crowned on Wednesday with the likes of Kano Pillars, Sportive Libolo of Angola, AS Sale of Morocco and City Oilers of Uganda in contention.

Nigerian outfit Pillars placed fourth at the last edition and look primed for another deep run in the tournament following a successful campaign that earned team members significant cash bonuses and incentives.

Democratic Republic of Congo will have two reps in New Generation and ASB Mazembe with the former lined up in Group A alongside Pillars and the latter in Group B with Nigeria’s final rep, Gombe Bulls.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here