Two time Sprite Ball Champions Sacred Heart Senior Heart School is one of eight teams battling to secure the remaining slot for the competition’s next edition.

The national high school basketball championship takes place next year from January 4-6 at the El Wak Stadium in Accra with 10 schools to contest for the female title.

Nine schools including defending champion Wesley Girls High School have made it to the national games by clinching automatic qualifying slots at the regional level.

However, for teams that missed out, the remaining spot is available to schools that have been selected for a special poll where the school with the most votes qualifies to the event.

Sacred Heart and St. Mary’s Senior High failed to make it out of Greater Accra Regional qualifiers and are included in the list with fellow Accra based team Achimota School.

Mary’s and Sacred Heart have won the competition in previous years and are joined by the likes of Okuapeman Senior High School and Mfantseman Senior High School. Below is the full list of schools:

Aggrey (white) v Swedru
Mfantseman at the January 2016 edition
Sacred Heart Technical School
Swedru School of Business
Okuapeman Senior High School
Kadjebi-Asato SHS
Mfantseman  SHS
Oyoko Methodist SHS
St Mary’s SHS
Achimota School


By Yaw Adjei-Mintah

@YawMintYM on Twitter



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here