OWASS Coach Alex Obeng Takyi
Girls Division Champions Wesley Girls.
KUGHIS (in green) against Wesley Girls in the final.

OWASS Harris gathers rebound in Sprite Ball final
Following an exciting 2017 season, the new season promises bigger and better accomplishments in Ghana basketball and Basketballghana.com previews a few of the top issues for the year.

From January 4-6, 2018, the latest Sprite Ball Championship will take place at the El Wak Stadium in Accra with 26 schools set to compete.

16 schools in the male division and 10 in the female division will compete for honors at the Ghana’s most prestigious high school basketball competition.

With the next edition set to have new dimensions such as the introduction of cheerleaders for the first time in the competition’s history, all eyes will be on the respective division champions chances of retaining the title.

Opoku Ware School (OWASS) and Wesley Girls High School won the male and female divisions at the last Sprite Ball held in December 2016.

OWASS made history with the win becoming Ashanti Region’s first male national champions while Wesley Girls clinched its third title to pace the division.

Matched up against tough sides, either team’s chance of repeating as champion is one to look out for.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here