King Tsuru II with Sprite Ball Male Champions Osu PRESEC.
Mfantsipim School

Record winners of the Sprite Ball Championship, Mfantsipim School has missed out on adding another title to its collection in this year’s edition.

The team lost 22-25 to Presbyterian Senior High School in the final game of the 2018 Championship which ended recently at the El Wak Stadium in Accra.

Losing to little known PRESEC-Osu, meant Mfantsipim failed to win a fifth title to extend its dominance in the competition.

The Cape-Coast based side has won lifted the prestigious trophy on four occasions including a three peat of titles from 2011 to 2013.

The winning sides had legendary players like George Poku-Pare, Julian Morgan and Edem Quist run over opposing sides with aplomb.

However, Mfantsipim has not been as successful in recent years after adding the fourth title in 2015 as the final losses indicate.

Falling by three to PRESEC marks the third consecutive loss for Mfantsipim who have towait another year to launch another title bid.

Mfantsipim has been to seven Sprite Ball Finals in all making it the most successful team in the competition’s history.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here