The 2018 Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges (UPAC) Basketball Championship zonal qualifiers heads to Ghana’s Greater Accra Region later this weekend.

This year’s competition has thus far had preliminary qualification games played in five zones with four zone winners declared.

Zone 4’s winner is yet to be determined as the game between Sunyani Technical University and University of Energy and Natural Resources (UENR) was postponed to Monday March 19 due to rain.

However, All Nations University College and Takoradi Technical University have qualified from Zones 1 and 2 respectively.

University of Education-Winneba and Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST) qualified from Zone 3 and Zone 5.

This means half of the national championship roster set for April has been completed; the remaining three zones will feature teams in Accra once Zone 4’s winner is declared.

Former winners Accra Technical University tips off the final leg of zonal games on Thursday March 22 in Zone 6 against Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration, Valley View University and Wisconsin University College.

2017 finalist Marshalls University College is in Zone 7 and play on Friday March 23 with defending champion University of Ghana featuring in Zone 8 on March 29.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here