Pentecost and Central University in action in 2017.
UG retained its 2016 trophy last year.
Zone 6 winners Accra Technical University
Takoardi Technical University
The full list of teams to compete in this year’s Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges (UPAC) Basketball Championship national competition will be known after games in Zone 8 conclude.

Fixtures in the zone will be played out on Thursday March 29 at the University of Ghana (UG) with four teams representing tertiary institutions in Ghana set to compete.

The host team UG, Pentecost University College, Radford University College and Regional Maritime University College have been drawn in the zone.

The winner qualifies to the national championship stage to join seven winners from other zones to battle from April 12-14 for this year’s UPAC title.

Eight teams will be drawn in two groups with four in each group; the two top teams in the respective groups progress to play in the semifinals and eventually, the final game. gathers a live draw for balloting will take place in the coming days after the winner of Zone 8 is determined tomorrow.

UG has won the UPAC title twice in 2016 and 2017 and is gunning for a third straight title this year. The likes of fellow two time winners Accra Technical University and Takoradi Technical University have booked spots in the elite stage.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here