Wisconsin (green) v ATU

STU beat Catholic University (all white strip)
UEW (blue) v CCTU

The draw for this year’s Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges (UPAC) Basketball Championship national competition has been made with Accra Technical University (ATU) in Group B.

ATU is in the Group alongside University of Education-Winneba (UEW), Sunyani Technical University (STU) and All Nations University College.

Two time winners ATU is expected to progress beyond the quarterfinals to the semifinals in what has been described as a winnable group by some quarters.

All Nations and STU have limited experience playing in this stage of the competition since both teams are featuring in the quarterfinals for the second time ever.

Neither has progressed to the semifinals while UEW is making the quarterfinals for the first time since 2011 in the maiden edition.

UEW went all the way to the 2011 Final but lost to ATU and has not played in the quarterfinals before topping Zone 3 in this year’s preliminary stages.

While ATU is favorite to qualify from the group, the team is fighting against a slide in form that had the side place second and third in 2016 and 2017 respectively.

This year’s national games will be held at University of Ghana from April 12-14.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here