Photo Courtesy: FIBA

Photo Courtesy: FIBA
Photo Courtesy: FIBA
The United States of America has emerged winners of the just ended FIBA Women’s Under 17 World Cup held in Minsk, Belarus.

The gold medal winning side beat France 92-40 in a dominant final showing to end its run with a perfect record winning all seven games.

It is a perfect bounce back to form from the Americans who missed out on the 2016 title to Australia; the title is America’s fourth overall.

For France, the wait continues as the European nation fell for the second time in the final game; the team reached the 2010 final but ended up in second place.

Australia completed the podium by placing third via a 57-51 win over Hungary; the Aussies overcame a bad start to clinch the win.

American trio, Jordan Horston, Hayley Jones and Aliyah Boston, was joined by Australia’s Shyla Heal and Iliana Rupert in the All Tournament Team.

The final game attracted scores of FIBA officials including President Horacio Muratore and Africa President Hamane Niang.

Africa’s representatives Angola and Mali finished in 16th and 10th place respectively.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here