Wesley Girls (yellow) in action
Augustine’s won the previous edition in January 2016.
Three former winners of the Sprite Ball Championship failed to qualify to participate in the next edition of the special games next year.

Aggrey Memorial won the 2016 Sprite Ball January edition.

St. Augustine’s College, Aggrey Memorial Zion Senior High School and Wesley Girls High School all missed out on places in the 2019 Sprite Ball.

This shocking incident unfolded earlier today at the Adisadel College Court in Cape-Coast where final qualifiers in the Central Region were played.

2016 Boys Division winners St. Augustine’s College placed third in the qualifiers with a 20-10 win over Adankwaman Senior High School.

This was not enough to propel them to the next stage as Mfantsipim School and host Adisadel managed to do so. Mfantsipim went on to beat Adisadel 23-16 to defend its regional title.

Record winners of Sprite Ball’s Girls Division, Wesley Girls High missed out on qualification following a 6-7 loss to Mfantsiman Girls Senior High School in the final.

Two time national champions Aggrey Memorial failed to progress from the zonal level as Mfantsiman beat them to the mark.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here