Omari receives Award.

Heat (in white) v Coldstore

For the first time in the history of the Tema Community Basketball League, the Most Valuable Player (MVP) Award Winner has been picked from the losing side in the Finals Series.

Tema Heat Point Forward Benjamin “Padlock” Omari was named MVP after starring for Heat in the postseason despite missing a chunk of the regular season.

He beat competition from Coldstore Shooting Guard Emmanuel Wolff and Tema Community 2 Guard Kwame Attafuah.

Omari proved too much for Coldstore to handle in the epic series and was deservedly applauded for his tremendous efforts in Heat’s mighty push for a maiden league title.

The Tema side lost the Finals Series (1-2) after and effectively the league title after losing 49-53 to Nungua Coldstore earlier tonight at the Tema Community 4 Court.

Prior to Omari’s ascension to the throne in the individual category, former MVP winners were picked from the winning teams.

In 2016, Coldstore’s Kwame Boamah Djan starred in Nungua’s sweep of Ashaiman Lions in the Finals and got the nod ahead of Carl Kuzagbe from Lions.

It was the same a year later as Tema Community 4 Point Guard Aninagyei Osei was named MVP after leading his side to the league title.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here