Omari receives Award.

Coach of the Year winner Wendell Otoo
Ocquaye (right)

Djan receives award
The 2018 Tema Community Basketball League is officially over and Nungua Coldstore are Champions once again after coming out tops in a nerve wracking Finals Series.

Coldstore beat Tema Heat 53-49 in Game 3 of this year’s Finals Series to win its second league trophy in three seasons. Tema’s Community 4 Court was the league venue for the campaign.

While Coldstore walked away with the team award for the year, a host of standout individuals were awarded for their brilliant efforts in the just ended league campaign.

Heat Point Forward Benjamin “Padlock” Omari was named Most Valuable Player of the competition despite missing a host of regular season games. His immense value to his team was noticeable in Heat throwing away a seven point lead in the final minutes to lose by four after fouling out of the game.

Coldstore Coach and Bankroller Wendell Otoo was named Coach of the Year after leading his side to win the league for the second time.

For the second time, Nungua Forward Kwame Boamah Djan was named Defensive Player of the Year. Djan won the award last year.

Teshie Rangers Forward Emmanuel Ocquaye received the Fair Play Award for his impeccable discipline throughout the season.

Coldstore Guards Emmanuel Wolff and Kwame Opoku won the Best Shooter and Best Guard Awards respectively. Tema Rockets veteran Forward Enoch Borsah won the Best Dunk Award.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here