Heat (in white) v Coldstore

Tema Heat Forward Benjamin “Padlock” Omari has admonished doubts on winning the 2018 Tema Community Basketball League Most Valuable Player Award.

Omari won the coveted award ahead of top performers Emmanuel Wolff from Nungua Coldstore and Kwame Attafuah from Tema Community 2.

On top of that, Omari did not play a host of games in the regular season leading some quarters to question his MVP validity.

Speaking to exclusively, Omari said, “I really deserve it…I believe its hardwork. I play by my role and I know my role and I played it well so I deserve the award”.

Heat lost the league title after falling 49-53 to Coldstore in the final game but Omari won the Award despite ending the finals series on the losing side.

This is the first time a player from the non winning team has won the Award. In 2016, Kwame Boamah Djan won the Award with Coldstore winning the league. In 2017, Tema Community 4 won the league and Point Guard Aninagyei Osei was named MVP.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here