Osu PRESEC Guard Joel Koboayere in action against Mfantsipim
Accra Wesley Guard Ruth Atibila in January, 2018 Final.

The Draw to determine groups in the upcoming Sprite Ball Championship is set to take place later today at 15:00 GMT on the competition’s official on Facebook.

The live event is highly anticipated as qualified schools continue preparations for this year’s tournament due to run from January 11-12 at the El Wak Stadium in Accra.

20 schools have qualified to compete in the 2019 edition with 12 schools in the Boys Division and eight schools in the Girls Division.

Presbyterian Senior High School (PRESEC-Osu) leads the way in the Boys Division as defending champions; Osu PRESEC beat Mfantsipim School 25-22 to clinch last year’s title.

Mfantsipim has won the most trophies in either division in the competition’s history (4) but has lost in three straight finals since last winning it in 2015.

In the Girls Division, Kumasi Girls Senior High School won its maiden title in its third appearance at the renowned tournament courtesy a 30-29 win in overtime over Accra Wesley Girls High School.

Sprite Ball is Ghana’s biggest high school basketball competition and is organized by Rite Sports Limited.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here