PRESEC with Accra Mayor Mohammed Sowah
Kumasi Girls with Legendary Boxer Azumah Nelson and Ghana Basketball Association Chairman David Addo Ashong (behind)
The 2019 Sprite Ball Championship is due to commence on Friday, January 11 and end on Saturday, January 12 at the El Wak Stadium in Accra.

20 schools will compete in this year’s tournament with 12 schools competing in the Boys Division and eight schools in the Girls Division.

Schools in the Boys Division have been divvied into four groups with each group containing three teams. can confirm the top two teams from each group qualify to the quarterfinal stage.

Despite the reduced number of teams in this year’s competition, the number of qualification slots remains same. In recent years, the division has had 16 competing teams.

2018 winners Osu-PRESEC won its maiden title via this route after beating Mfantsipim School 25-22 in the final game.

In the Girls Division, two groups hold all eight competing schools with four in each group. The top two teams in each group qualify to the semifinals.

Kumasi Girls Senior High School won last year’s edition courtesy a 30-29 win over Accra Wesley Girls Senior High School.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here