2018 Sprite Ball Champions Kumasi Girls.
Former Deputy Sports Minister Nii Nortey Dua presenting Sprite Ball Trophy to 2013 Winners Mfantsipim.
T.I.Ahmadiyya’s winning side in 2015.
The 2019 Sprite Ball Championship is mere hours away from jump ball at the El Wak Stadium in Accra and participating teams are due to arrive in Ghana’s capital today.

12 schools in the Boys Division and eight schools in the Girls Division will vie for the chance to overthrow defending champions Osu-PRESEC and Kumasi Girls in the respective divisions.

Should that happen, the search for back to back winners of Ghana’s biggest high school basketball tournament will extend for another year.

Consecutive winners in the competition has been rare in the competition as T.I. Ahmadiyya Senior High School was the last in the Girls Division to clinch back to back titles in 2014 and 2015.

Mfantsipim School was the last team record consecutive winning seasons in the competition since placing first in 2011, 2012 and 2013.

A fourth title was clinched in 2015 but the team has lost three straight final games since. This year’s final game will be played on Saturday January 12.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here