Radford (yellow) v GTUC
UG (Blue) v Central; University
KTU celebrate qualification
TTU celebrate after sealing qualification
Institutions in Ghana’s Greater Accra Region make up half of the quarterfinal roster in the 2019 Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges (UPAC) Basketball Championship.

Eight teams have qualified to compete in the knockout phase of the esteemed competition later this week at the University of Ghana (UG) Central Court.

UG, Marshalls University College, Radford University College and Accra Technical University (ATU) qualified from various zones in the preliminary stage.

UG topped Zone 8 as Radford, Marshalls and ATU did same in Zone 7, 3 and 6 respectively in March.

The remaining spots are filled by Catholic University College, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST), Koforidua Technical University and Takoradi Technical University. Catholic and Koforidua Technical are featuring at this stage for the first time.

The quarterfinal games are to be played out on Friday, April 12 with semifinal games and final game set for Saturday, April 13 at the same venue.

The 2019 UPAC Championship is sponsored by CAL Bank and MTN and is the sixth edition of the most compelling tertiary basketball tournament in Ghana.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here