The draw for this year’s FIBA Women’s African Basketball Championship (AfroBasket) has concluded in Dakar, Senegal with participating nations placed in groups for the preliminary stage.

This year’s competition runs from Wednesday, August 10 to Thursday, August 18 in the brand new Dakar Arena in Senegal. The competition is the first major event to be staged at the new facility.

12 nations have qualified to play in the 2019 edition including defending champions and World Cup quarter finalist Nigeria, Cape Verde, Tunisia and Cameroon.

The participating nations were grouped into four groups with each group containing three nations with the top ranked teams after the preliminary stage qualifying to the quarterfinals.

The second and third ranked teams in each group get to play in a qualifying round that determines opponents for group winners in the quarterfinals.

Knockout games will determine the eventual winner of the competition and the top ranked six nations will automatically qualify to tournament qualifiers for the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo, Japan.

Senegal lost to Nigeria in the 2017 Championship final.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter

10 Astou Traore (SEN) – Senegal v Mozambique, 2017 FIBA Afrobasket Women Final Round (MLI), Bamako(MLI), Group Phase, 19 August 2017 Photo Credit:
Akashili Photo Courtesy: FIBA
Photo Courtesy: FIBA


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here