Mfantsiman v Kumasi Girls (Green) at 2019 Sprite Ball Final.

Defending Girl’s Division Sprite Ball Champions Kumasi Girls Senior High School has been drawn in an “open” group for the upcoming edition of the highly rated competition.

The two time winners were drawn in Group A in the division for next year’s edition of Ghana’s biggest High School Basketball Championship. The 2020 Sprite Ball Championship takes place on January 3 and January 4 at the El Wak Stadium in Accra.

Kumasi Girls will compete at the preliminary stage next month against Bueman Senior High School, Krobo Girls Senior High School and Presbyterian Senior High School (PRESEC-Osu).

Bueman Senior High is making its debut appearance in the tournament as representative of the Volta Region; eight schools will compete in the division.

Group B is regarded as the “Group of Death” and has Shama Senior High School, Wesley Girls High School, Accra Wesley Girls High School and St. Louis Senior High School.

Shama is a two time bronze medal winner, Wesley Girls has three gold medals to its credit and Accra Wesley Girls have two silver medals.

Two teams will progress to the next stage of the championship. Below is a full list of groups:

2019 Sprite Ball Champions Kumasi Girls
Group A Group B
Kumasi Girls SHS Shama SHS
Bueman SHS Wesley Girls High School
Krobo Girls SHS Accra Wesley Girls SHS
PRESEC Osu St. Louis SHS
2019 Sprite Ball Bronze Medalist Shama Senior High School
Wesley Girls won the December 2016 Sprite Ball edition

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah

@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here