Female Coaches missed out on top honours at the just ended 2020 Sprite Ball Championship held at the El Wak Stadium in Accra, Ghana.

Male Coaches led Keta Business College (KETABUSCO) and Shama Senior High School to titles in the Boys and Girls Divisions respectively.

The streak of female absences on the podium was extended to another year after Senyo Ashiagbor and George Hanson were named Coaches of the Tournament.

Ashiagbor led KETABUSCO to its first ever title while Hanson led Shama to its first ever title in the Girls Division thanks to a 15-14 win over St. Louis Senior High School. KETABUSCO beat record winners Mfantsipim School 48-40 in the Boys Division Final.

Female Coaches have largely been absent on the trainers radar of Ghana’s biggest High School basketball tournament. In the just ended competition, only Presbyterian Senior High School (PRESEC Osu) had a female as its head coach.

PRESEC Osu placed fourth in the competition.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah

@YawMintYM on Twitter



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here