Rwanda-Mali Photo Courtesy: FIBA

Later this year, Egypt will host the FIBA Under 18 Africa Women’s Basketball Championship after the North African country was officially named host by the continent’s governing body FIBA Africa.

This year’s Championship takes place at the Cairo Indoor Stadium from July 10 to July 19 more than half a dozen nations expected to compete; Ghana hosted the 1985 edition.

The upcoming competition is the third with Egypt as the host nation after the country held the 2014 and 2016 editions; the 2010 edition was also held in Egypt.

Mali are the defending champions after beating Mozambique 86-33 at the 2018 Championship with Angola placing third ahead of Rwanda.

Egypt has hosted a bevy of competitions in recent times including the 2019 Women’s Club Championship; Mozambique hosted the competition for the second time in 2018.

Mali is the record winner of the competition after bagging seven titles with DR Congo winning two titles and the likes of Egypt and Senegal winning one.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah

@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here