Mercenaries-Lions Photo Courtesy:

The debut season of the Basketball Africa League (BAL) is to be played across seven cities on the African continent can confirm.

The inaugural season of the BAL commences on March 13 with 12 teams from the continent due to compete in the NBA-FIBA Africa event. Six teams were automatic qualifiers to the competition after winning their respective leagues while six others made it through via a series of qualifiers.

Senegal’s Dakar Arena will host the opening round of games and Cairo (Egypt), Sale (Morocco), Monastir (Tunisia), Lagos (Nigeria) and Luanda (Angola) will host the regular season games.

Rwanda’s recently built 10,000 Kigali Arena will host the playoffs games and the finals series; participating teams are to be divided into two groups with each groups containing six teams.

In an all play all format, the top four teams in each group progresses to the playoffs and the successful teams progress to the finals.

Jerseys for the teams were unveiled this past weekend during the NBA All Star Weekend.

Officials and Players at the Luncheon
Photo Courtesy:

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah

@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here