Team UG won the 2019 UPAC edition

The start of the 2020 Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges (UPAC) Basketball Championship is nigh and takes a closer look at the Coaches who have starred in the competition from the sidelines.

This year’s UPAC is the seventh edition and commences on March 7 with 32 institutions expected to compete for the title.

However, three Coaches have won the title not once but twice with record winners University of Ghana (UG) leading the way with two of them.

Accra Technical University (ATU) won the 2011 and 2015 editions of the competition with Coach Lawal Brimah leading the team.

ATU was the first to win back to back titles and won its second with a comeback 55-40 win over Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST).

UG won the 2016 and 2017 editions over ATU and Marshalls University College respectively with the 2016 win coming via a 45-44 result thanks to a late Emmanuel Wolff three point shot and referee decision. Meme Falconer led the team.

Under Dr. Baba Samori, UG won the 2018 and 2019 editions over ATU and Takoradi Technical University respectively.

Lawal with ATU in 2015
Dr. Samori
2017 UG winning Team

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah

@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here