The 2020 Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges (UPAC) Basketball Championship commences on March 7 at the Pope John Senior High School in Koforidua.

The upcoming tournament is the seventh edition of the tournament widely regarded as Ghana’s biggest basketball competition at the tertiary education level.

32 teams representing institutions will compete in the tournament in eight zones across the West African country. Four teams are in each zone.

In Zone One, defending Zonal Champions Koforidua Technical University leads the field which has All Nations University College, Radford University College and Wisconsin International University College competing.

Radford University is featuring in the zone for the first time after competing in the Greater Accra Zones; the change is to enable the team also compete in the Private Universities Sports Association Games later this month.

Wisconsin falls in the same category as Radford and aims to win the zone and progress to the national championship for the first time. The team lost in the zonal championship decider to Koforidua Technical in last year’s competition.

Koforidua (white) in 2019 Zonal Championship
All Nations (red) v Wisconsin in 2019 Championship

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah

@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here