Nigeria and Hoopers Guard Ben Uzoh Photo Courtesy: FIBA

The 12 nations to compete at the Tokyo Olympics have been confirmed and set to battle it out for gold at the delayed Games later this month.

The final list of contending nations was sorted this past weekend when final games of four mini qualification tournaments were played out.

Yannick Moreira Photo Courtesy: FIBA

Italy, Germany, Czech Republic and Slovenia booked their spots in Tokyo whereas Africa’s representatives Angola, Senegal and Tunisia were unsuccessful.

Nigeria is Africa’s sole representative at the Olympics and has been drawn in Group B alongside Australia, Germany and Italy with the latter pair just confirming its place on Sunday, July 4.

Tunisia Center Salah Mejri Photo Courtesy:

The West African nation booked its place in Tokyo thanks to a three win performance in five games at the Basketball World Cup held in China in 2019.

Selton Miguel v Poland Photo Courtesy: FIBA

Iran, France, USA and Czech Republic make up Group A while the toughest draw is Group C that has Argentina, Japan, Spain and Slovenia.

Japan aside, the remaining three nations are highly rated with Argentina and Spain winning medals in previous Olympics. See the groups below:

Photo Courtesy: FIBA

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah

@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here