can confirm the number of teams to compete in the 2021-2022 Tema Basketball League season has altered from the number that competed in the 2019 edition. The 2020 Season was lost to COVID 19.

Eight teams will compete in the upcoming season with a start date yet to be confirmed by the League Board; 12 teams played in the 2019 season.

Nungua Coldstore after bagging 2018 TBL title

The single digit number of competing teams is a throwback to the maiden edition of the league that had seven teams with Nungua Coldstore emerging as league winners.

2017 League Champions Tema Community 4

10 teams played in the 2017 season with Tema Community 4 bagging the title and the number has remained in the double digit column since.

The 2021-2022 season is set to be the fifth edition since the league’s launch in 2016; of the registered teams, six are incumbent with Tema Community 25 Panthers and Tema Wolves as the newbies.

Photo Courtesy: TBL

Spintex Knights and Sakumono Titans made the playoffs in their debut campaigns in 2019.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah

@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here