can confirm the final roster for Nigeria’s National Men’s Basketball Team (D’Tigers) to compete in the Tokyo Olympics has been named.


The 15 man team was whittled down to 12 as Africa’s only representative at the Games prepares to play Australia, Italy and Germany in Group B.


The team named by Head Coach Mike Brown has eight players who ply their trade in the NBA including Miami Heat trio Precious Achiuwa, Kezie Okpala and Gabe Vincent.

Miye Oni of Utah, Jordan Nwora of Milwaukee Bucks, Jahlil Okafor of Detroit Pistons, Chimedzie Metu of Sacramento Kings and Josh Okogie of Minnesota Timberwolves are the remaining members who play in the NBA.

Milwaukee Bucks forward Giannis Antetokounmpo, center, drives to the basket as Miami Heat forward Kelly Olynyk, left, forward Precious Achiuwa, second from left, and guard Gabe Vincent (2) defend during the second half of an NBA basketball game Wednesday, Dec. 30, 2020, in Miami. (AP Photo/Lynne Sladky)

Nwora is with the Bucks team that is competing in the NBA Finals against Phoenix Suns and could join the team should Milwaukee beat Phoenix in the wee hours of Wednesday, July 21 at 1:00 AM. Bucks lead the series 3-2 heading to Game 6.

Brown Photo Courtesy: FIBA

Veteran Forward and former Los Angeles Clippers player Ekpe Udoh was named to the team. Below is the full roster:

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah

@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here