Photo Courtesy:

Eight teams have secured qualification to compete in the Playoffs Stage of the 2022 Basketball Africa League (BAL) following the conclusion of the Group Phase.

Four teams from the Nile Conference and four teams from the Sahara Conference will compete at this stage for spots in the semifinals and final games.

REG (Rwanda), US Monastir (Tunisia), AS Sale (Morocco) and SLAC (Guinea) progressed from the Sahara Conference while Zamalek (Egypt), Petro de Luanda (Angola), FAP (Cameroon) and Cape Town Tigers (South Africa) progressed from the Nile Conference.

Photo Courtesy: BAL

The playoffs is due to run from May 21 to May 28 at the Kigali Arena in Rwanda; Zamalek is the defending champion of the tournament after beating US Monastir in the 2021 Final.

Zamalek won the inaugural BAL Photo Courtesy: BAL

The Egyptian side heads into the postseason as the only unbeaten team in the NBA-FIBA Africa continental competition thanks to winning all five games in the Nile Conference.

Games in the Nile Conference were held in Cairo, Egypt while Senegal’s Dakar Arena hosted Shara Conference Games.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah

@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here