Joseph Yamin

It was expected to be a night of glitz of and glamour and it never felt short of expectations as the maiden edition of the Ghana Basketball Awards rolled out in a grand style last Friday.

It was a night characterized by emotions, excellence and achievements as individuals, groups and organizations who have contributed significantly to the growth of the game were rewarded for their work ethics.

Braves of CEPS’ Baniba Dodzie was adjudged the Most Valuable Player in Ghana after an exciting season with CEPS and Accra Polytechnic.

He played an influential role for CEPS as they defended an incredible 11-year unbeaten run in the Greater Accra Basketball series.

He was again the main architect for Accra Polytechnic as they dazzled their way to winning the 2012 Polytechnic Games held in Sekondi Takoradi.

For his prize he went away with a giant trophy and a certificate as well as products from Sprite and Indomie Instant Noodles.

Daniel Owusu of Mfantsipim Basic School was voted the Most Promising Player after helping his side to win two titles in the year under review.

He played a pivotal role for the Cape Coast-based side to win the Central Regional Milo Junior Ball and the national Indomie Community Dunks.

Mfantsipim’s Julian Morgan fend off competition from Emmanuel Wolff (Koforidua Secondary Technical School), Mawuli Dogbe (Keta Senior High) and Rudold Retting Akrasi (Opoku Ware School) to win the High School Player of the Year (male division).

It was a night that belonged to Cape Coast as Aggrey Memorial’s Matilda Gordon stole the show in the girls division as she won the High School Female Player of the Year.

She beats competition from fellow school mate Ajata Iddrisu and Ama Serwah Mitchual (St Mary’s).

Mavis Martey of the Police Team was voted the Female Player of the Year while Team of the Year went to the country’s Under-18 team.

Ever-smiling Samuel Badu won the Referee of the Year while veteran trainer Brimah Lawah was adjudged the Coach of the Year, beating off competition from Emmanuel Quaye and Seth Okine.

Meritorious awards were given to Garrison Basic School, Mfantsipim, Aggrey Memorial, University of Ghana, Tamale Polytechnic, Accra Polytechnic and Cape Coast Polytechnic for various feats chalked in the year.

Veteran Mathias Ocloo and Colonel JA Dellor received a standing ovation for their unrelenting dedication and valour to the growth and development of the game in the country.

Media houses were also recognized for their tremendous support to the game while developmental awards were given to seven organizations that have contributed to the growth of the game at the grassroots level.

The event was hugely attended by high-profile personalities including Ghana’s deputy Youth and Sports Minister Hon. Joseph Yamin, Chairman of the Ghana Basketball Association, David Addo-Ashong, three-time WBC Super Featherweight champion, Professor Azumah Nelson, Chief Executive of Rite Multimedia, Yaw Sakyi Afari amongst others.


  1. im this event has finally showed up. I want to stress the point that there are players across the country who need better facilities for training. So they should be helped by giving b.ball coaches to all the stadia in the country like the football coaches do.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here