Select teams will compete in a basketball tournament at the grand opening of the ultra modern John Evans Atta-Mills Stadium on May 3 in Cape-Coast.

The new stadium which is named after Ghana’s former President Professor John Evans Atta-Mills who passed away in 2012.The brand new edifice will be officially opened by President John Mahama, Sports Minister Nii Lante Vanderpuye and Chinese Ambassador to Ghana Sun Baohong.

The basketball competition forms part of activities on the day which will include a football game between Ghana’s youth team and China’s Under 19 team.


Four schools will compete in the boys and girls categories respectively against community-based teams in the competition. Reigning national high school champions St. Augustine’s College and Aggrey Memorial Mount Zion will headline the school division.

Multiple time winners of Sprite Ball (national high school championship) Mfantsipim School, Adisadel College and Aggrey Memorial’s male team will play in the boys’ division whereas former winners Wesley Girls High School and Mfantsiman Girls Senior High feature in the ladies division.


All the games will be played out on the stadium’s two new basketball courts. St. Augustine’s College won the Sprite Ball Championship earlier this year after beating arch rivals Mfantsipim 37-22 in the final game. Aggrey’s ladies team did same by beating Accra Wesley Girls in the women’s division.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here