Prempeh College placed second in 2010.
Prempeh College placed second in 2010.


T.I.Ahmadiyya's winning side in 2015.
T.I.Ahmadiyya’s winning side in 2015.

The 2016 Ashanti regional basketball qualifiers will take place at Opoku Ware School on Friday November 11 as teams from boys and girls high schools in the region go through the early stages of making the national roster at the 2017 Sprite Ball Championship.

The primary qualifiers is set to feature some familiar names in the competition with the likes of host Opoku Ware, fierce rival Prempeh College, Kumasi Anglican Senior High School and Kumasi High School compete.

Toase Senior High School, Kumasi Academy, T.I. Ahmadiyya Senior High School and Islamic Senior High School complete the list of teams set to compete in the boys division.

Ahmadiyya’s female side and two time national champions qualified for the regionals after winning the zonal division ahead of 2016 Sprite Ball surprise package Kumasi Girls Senior High School.

No school from the region has won the Sprite Ball Championship in the male division since the competition’s inception in 2007. Prempeh College made the 2010 final game but lost to Mfantsipim School. Host school Opoku Ware placed third in 2014 and 2015.

Aside T.I.Ahmadiyya, Yaa Asantewaa Girls Senior High School have won the girls division in the competition. Yaa Asantewaa won the 2010 edition.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here