Marshalls will begin their quest for a title on March 10.
UG will be in action on March 10.

Games in Zone A and Zone D are set to get underway on Friday March 10 at the University Of Ghana (UG) in the third leg of the Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges (UPAC) Basketball Championship.

Marshalls University College headline Zone A with Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration (GIMPA), Ghana Technology University College (GTUC) and debutant Regional Maritime University College.

Reigning UPAC Champions University of Ghana (UG) leads the field in Zone D which has University of Professional Studies (UPSA), Blue Crest University and Ho Technical University.

Zone A games were originally scheduled for February 17 but the untimely death of Ghana basketball legend Matthias Ocloo forced organizers, Rite Sports Limited to postpone the event.

The former Acting Chairman of Ghana’s Basketball Referees Association also coached UG during his lengthy career in the sport.

Following All Nations University College’s shocking qualification from Zone A, fellow debutant Maritime University would be hoping to replicate the same form.

UG on the other hand will be in line to equal Accra Technical University’s back to back title winning record in 2011 and 2015.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@ YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here