Kano Pillars

Nigeria’s Basketball Federation (NBBF) has released the itinerary for the 2017 campaign for the DSTV Premier Basketball League.

The new regular season tips off on Thursday April 13 and is expected to end on August 5; the regular season normally starts in March and ends in July.

However, the start day change is one of many this season as the Federations aims to push the league’s quality further.

28 regular season games will be played this year which a stark improvement on the 14 outings that took place last season with seven games played at home and seven played away from home.

As such, the postseason begins in August with the Conference Six playoffs set to take place from August 14-18.

The Final Eight will be played from September 4 to 9 before the final game on September 9. The All-Star Weekend will commence on June 17. Last season’s winners Kano Pillars placed fourth in the African Club Championship held in Egypt.

In the Women’s Division, Zenith Bank has renewed its sponsorship for the league and it will be partnered by Broadcaster Kwese Free Sports for the new season which began on April 10.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here