Nigeria beat Angola to place second at the Africa Games.
Photo courtesy FIBA
The 2017 FIBA Women’s AfroBasket Championship is set to commence August in Bamako, Mali and run to August 27.

Ahead of the Championship, a draw to determine groups the competing teams will be housed in was conducted in the host city Bamako.

Reigning champions Senegal has been drawn in Group B where the country will face bronze medalist in the 2015 edition Nigeria, Egypt Guinea and Mozambique.

The record winners of the Championship will know its final opponent at the end of June when qualifiers involving DR Congo, Gabon and Central African Republic concludes.

In Group A, 2015 beaten finalist Cameroon will hope for better fortune this time around as it begins its title quest against Angola, Mali, Tunisia, Ivory Coast and a wild card selection.

The top two highest ranked sides in the tournament qualify to the World Cup in Spain in 2018.
Below is a full view of the Groups:

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here