Morocco players celebrate. Photo Courtesy:
Shot fromSenegal-Angola game Photo Courtesy:

New African Champions Tunisia Photo Courtesy:
African qualifiers for the 2019 World Cup will be held later this month with the first phase of qualifiers set to take place before the end of the year.

However, countries that featured in the African Nations Championship (AfroBasket) will compete for spots in the competition to be held in China.

Games in Groups A and C will be played in Yaounde (Cameroon) and Luanda (Angola) with those in Groups B and D set to be played in February, 2019.

The top ranked sides after the qualifiers proceed to the next round which will be played on home and away basis to decide which teams make it to the world stage.

African champions Tunisia, Guinea, South Africa and host nation Cameroon are in Group A while Democratic Republic of Congo, Angola, Egypt and Morocco are in Group B.

Morocco surprised many at the last continental championship by placing fourth thanks to wins over Angola in the quarterfinals; the record African winners will be hoping to put the disappointing campaign behind for a shot at the world spot.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here