Mfantsipim (green) battled gallantly at the December 2016 edition final.
Augustine’s won the previous edition in January 2016.
Pope John (yellow) had no answers to Mfantsipim’s onslaught.
Adisadel (in black shorts) lost to Hoops Care in a friendly game.

Mfantsipim School.
Record winners of the Sprite Ball Championship Mfantsipim School will be in action in this year’s Central Regional Qualifiers for the national tournament.

The Sprite Ball Championship takes place from January 4-6, 2018 at El Wak Stadium in Ghana’s capital, Accra with top high schools in Ghana set to compete.

Qualifying games in the region will be played on Tuesday December 5 at the Robert Mensah Stadium in Cape-Coast with Mfantsipim as defending champions.

The team is in Group B with new entrants Adankwaman Senior High School and Adisadel College also featuring in the preliminary phase.

Group A has former winner and arch rival St. Augustine’s College paired with Insaniyya Senior High School and Winneba Senior High School.

The top two teams from each group qualify to the semifinals with the finalists automatically progressing to the national competition.

Mfantsipim has been an ever present feature at the tournament since the competition commenced in 2007 and has won on four occasions.

Reigning National Female Champions Wesley Girls High School will be in action as well.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here