Mfantsipim (red) against Keta
Adisadel (white) beat Mawuli.
Sacred Heart in action against Mawuli

PRESEC-Osu (green) topped Keta
Male Basketball teams of Volta Region Senior High Schools who have missed out on competing in the Sprite Ball Championship can fancy their chances of competing in future editions of the competition.

This is due to the two year ban slapped on perennial representatives Mawuli Senior High School and Keta Senior High Technical School.

Both teams were dismissed from competing in this year’s competition for fielding unqualified players; the teams were found to be culpable of the act in the aftermath of an investigation.

Top officials of Ghana’s Education Service Physical Education Unit made the ruling after conducting investigation into a protest spearheaded by Mfantsipim School.

This took place after Mfantsipim lost 13-16 to Keta in the final Group A game that ensured the latter made it to the quarterfinals.

However, Mfantsipim replaced Keta in the quarters and proceeded to the finals before falling 22-25 to Presbyterian Senior High School Osu.

Keta won the Sprite Ball Championship in 2014 and will miss the next two editions alongside Mawuli Senior High School for the same offence.

The likes of Kadjebi Asato and Bishop Herman are heavily tipped to represent the region in the upcoming editions.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here