Aggrey Memorial won the 2016 Sprite Ball January edition.
Ahantaman beat Aggrey (all white) to clinch bronze.
Accra Wesley (yellow and blue) dominated Aggrey

Two time winners of the Sprite Ball Championship Female Division Aggrey Memorial Zion Senior High School have not fared well at the last editions of the competitions.

The Cape-Coast based school last won the tournament in January 2016 but has fallen below the high mark set before.

Aggrey has missed out on playing in the final game in the past two editions including the just ended tournament which had Kumasi Girls High School emerge winners.

Kumasi beat Accra Wesley Girls High School 30-29 in overtime to clinch its first national title on its third appearance in the competition.

Completely missing out on a medal this year highlights the drop in standard of the side; after clinching its second title, Aggrey placed third in the next edition.

The team narrowly piped Awudome Senior High School to make the semifinals before falling 8-19 to finalist Accra Wesley Girls and an 8-26 loss to Ahantaman Girls Senior High School in the third place game.

10 teams competed in this year’s edition.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here