The United States of America will begin its FIBA World Cup title defense in Group D where the team has been drawn in for this year’s competition.

The 2014 World Cup winners have been drawn alongside African silver medalist Senegal, China and European representative Latvia.

USA is widely expected to qualify from the group with 11 time African Champions Senegal and Asian powerhouse China in the running for second place.

Host Spain was drawn in Group C alongside Belgium, Puerto Rico and Japan; Spain placed second at the last edition falling to USA in the final game.

Group A has South Korea, Greece, Canada and France while African Champions Nigeria has been drawn in the tough Group B.

The West Africans will play against Australia, Turkey and Argentina; Australia and Turkey placed third and fourth respectively at the 2014 World Cup.

The 2018 FIBA World Cup takes place from September 22-25 in Spain with 16 countries set to battle for the biggest prize in international female basketball.

Below are the various groups after today’s draw:

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here