UG retained its 2016 trophy last year.
UG Coach Dr. Baba Samori
Maritime University (white) playing against GIMPA.
The final round of this year’s Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges (UPAC) Basketball Championship will be played out at the University of Ghana (UG) on Thursday March 29.

Zone 8 has the host institution’s team alongside Radford University College, Pentecost University College and Regional Maritime University College.

However, with the exception of UG, none of the remaining members of the zone have made it beyond the preliminary stage.

Regional Maritime made its debut in 2017,Radford will be making its debut on Thursday while Pentecost has featured in the competition since 2015.

On the other hand, UG has won the Championship’s past two editions with wins over Accra Technical University and Marshalls University College in 2016 and 2017 respectively.

The defending champion is widely expected to top the zone and play in the national championship stage which runs from April 12-14.

Zone 8’s winner completes the roster in the next stage since seven zone winners have been determined in recent weeks.

Ghana Technology University College qualified from Zone 7 this past weekend.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here