Souleyman Diabate of Ivory Coast. Photo Courtesy:

Ben Uzoh of Nigeria Photo Courtesy:
Teams to compete in the final round of games in the African 2019 FIBA World Cup qualifiers have been placed in groups ahead of the games later this year.

The first batch of games will be played in September between 12 teams who successfully progressed to this stage after two rounds of qualifiers.

The teams will battle to secure Africa’s five spots in next year’s world competition in China with the Unites States as defending champions.

Two groups contain six teams each with Group E dominated by West African nations like Nigeria, Senegal, Ivory Coast and Mali.

Teams that round up the group are Central African Republic (CAR) and Rwanda; CAR and Rwanda are surprise qualified nations from the previous phase.

Group F is dominated by North African nations with reigning African Champions Tunisia, Egypt and Morocco featured in there.

The remaining teams in the group are record African Champions Angola, Chad and Cameroon; Chad are the surprise package in the group after qualifying despite stepping in as a replacement for South Africa.

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah
@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here