12 teams have qualified to compete in the Elite 16 stage of the Basketball Africa League (BAL) following the conclusion of games in the preliminary round.

Ghana’s Braves of Customs missed out on progressing from Group B as Abidjan Basketball Club from Ivory Coast and AS Nigelec from Niger secured the qualification spots. The qualifiers were played in Cotonou, Benin.

Elite 16 games are due to be played in Yaounde, Cameroon and Kigali, Rwanda between November 26 and December 22 with the Final Four set to be played in March 2020.

Yaounde’s FAP Police, Abidjan Basket, Nigelec, GSP from Angola, Manga from Gabon and AS Police from Mali make up one half of the roster of qualified teams.

Patriots from Rwanda, City Oilers from Uganda, UNZA Pacers from Zambia, KPA from Kenya, Ferroviario Maputo from Mozambique and GNBC from Madagascar make up the other half. Four teams are to be awarded wild card slots to complete the field.

The BAL is a joint initiative by the NBA and FIBA Africa.

Braves Photo Courtesy: FIBA.com
Dolphins (Black)-Ferroviario Photo Courtesy: FIBA.com
JKT (black) v Oilers Photo Courtesy: FIBA

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah

@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here