Qualification games to the 2020 Sprite Ball Championship have ended successfully across all competing regions in Ghana.

However, a host of schools with extensive connections to the West Africa nation’s biggest High School Basketball tournament have missed out on qualifying to the upcoming edition.

Next year’s Sprite Ball Championship runs from January 3 to January 4 at the El Wak Stadium in Accra with 12 schools competing in the Boys Division and eight schools competing in the Girl’s Division.

No surprises were recorded in the Ashanti and Western Regions respectively but the remaining regions had quite a number of big name casualties.

In the Greater Accra Region, Presbyterian Boys Senior High School (PRESEC-Legon) failed to qualify just mere weeks after winning the Accra Mayor’s Cup. The Accra Mayor’s Cup winners in the Girl’s Division, West Africa Senior High School, also failed to qualify.

In the Volta Region, Bueman Senior High School upstaged regional titan Mawuli Senior High School to progress to the national competition in the Girl’s Division.

In the Eastern Region, former Silver medal winners and constantly present at Sprite Ball-Koforidua Senior High Technical School (KSTS)-missed out on qualifying to next year’s competition. Newbie Asuom Senior High School will represent the region alongside Pope John Senior High School.

2019 Mayor’s Cup Winners PRESEC Legon
Augustine’s (green) in action at the 2016 Sprite Ball.

In the Central Region, 2016 Sprite Ball Champs St. Augustine’s College failed for the second year in a row to qualify from the region. 2019 Sprite Ball Silver medalist Mfantsiman Girl’s Senior High School failed to progress from the female division.

2019 Accra Mayor’s Girls Division Winners WASS
KSTS (yellow) against Adisadel College at the 2019 Sprite Ball
Mfantsiman at the 2019 Sprite Ball

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah

@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here