2019 Accra Mayor's Girls Division Winners WASS

Winners of the 2019 Accra Mayor’s Cup have missed out on qualifying to the 2020 Sprite Ball Championship due to take place on January 3 and January 4 at the El Wak Stadium in Ghana’s capital, Accra.

Presbyterian Boys Senior High School (PRESEC-Legon) and West Africa Senior High School (WASS) topped the Boys and Girl’s Divisions respectively at the Mayor’s Cup last month.

However, neither team progressed from the Greater Accra Region qualifiers played recently despite heading into the competition as favourites.

PRESEC Legon hosted the qualifiers but lost out on representing the region to PRESEC Osu and WASS in the Boys Division. In the Girl’s Division, PRESEC Osu and Accra Wesley Girls Senior High School qualified to represent the region at the national competition.

12 schools will compete at next year’s Sprite Ball in the Boys Division with eight schools competing in the Girl’s Division. Mfantsipim School and Kumasi Girls High School are defending champions in the respective divisions.

Sprite Ball is Ghana’s biggest High School basketball tournament and is organized by Rite Sports Limited.

2019 Mayor’s Cup Winners PRESEC Legon
PRESEC Legon v St. Aquinas (yellow)
Accra Wesley Girls (yellow and blue kit) v WASS

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah

@YawMintYM on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here