Officially the 2020 Sprite Ball Championship has no winner after Keta Business College (KETABUSCO) got stripped off the title it won a fortnight ago.

KETABUSCO beat Mfantsipim School 48-40 in the final of the Boys Division at the El Wak Stadium in Ghana’s capital, Accra on January 4.

However, the school was stripped off the title after investigations concluded five players used in the competition were not students.

Most Valuable Player of the Tournament Award winner Prince Gidisu was one of the five players implicated in the mess; the Ghana Education Service (GES) headlined the investigations.

Mfantsipim was next in line to be declared winners of the competition after placing second in the competition but that won’t be the case per reports gathered from organizers Rite Sports Limited.

KETABUSCO played and beat schools en route to the title denying them the chance to progress in the competition and even contend for a title.

Sekondi College, Opoku Ware School and Prempeh College lost to KETABUSCO in the tournament; Mfantsipim lost twice to KETABUSCO including the final game.

Ketabusco v SEKCO (blue)
Ketabusco-Opoku Ware
Prempeh College (green) v KETABUSCO
Keta (green) v Mfantsipim

By Yaw Adjei-Mintah

@YawMintYM on Twitter



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here